Brand new Springsteen album announced: Western Stars

After 8 years in the making, it is finally here. Bruce Springsteen started working on Western Stars in 2011, when a sudden burst of inspiration put those songs aside and instead we got Wrecking Ball (2012). The album was again delayed when Bruce decided to tour with the E Street Band in 2016 after releasing the Ties That Bind boxset… and then it was further delayed after the publication of his autobiography Born to Run and the 14-month stay in Broadway.

Western Stars, his 19th studio album, contains 13 brand new original songs and will be released June 14th. The song «Hello Sunshine» and a video will be released tonight, after midnight ET.

This record is a return to my solo recordings featuring character driven songs and sweeping, cinematic orchestral arrangements,» says Springsteen. «It’s a jewel box of a record.»

The 13 tracks of Western Stars encompass a sweeping range of American themes, of highways and desert spaces, of isolation and community and the permanence of home and hope.

Ron Aniello produced the album with Springsteen and plays bass, keyboard, and other instruments. Patti Scialfa provides vocals and contributes vocal arrangements on four tracks. The musical arrangements include strings, horns, pedal steel and contributions from more than 20 other players including Jon Brion (who plays celeste, Moog, and farfisa), as well as guest appearances by David Sancious, Charlie Giordano, and Soozie Tyrell. The album was mixed by Tom Elmhirst.

Western Stars Song Titles

1. Hitch Hikin’

2. The Wayfarer

3. Tucson Train

4. Western Stars

5. Sleepy Joe’s Café

6. Drive Fast (The Stuntman)

7. Chasin’ Wild Horses

8. Sundown

9. Somewhere North of Nashville

10. Stones

11. There Goes My Miracle

12. Hello Sunshine

13. Moonlight Motel

All songs written by Bruce Springsteen