The Springsteen Archives

As part of the Asbury Park Film +Music Festival, a lot of unseen Bruce Springsteen footage was show on April 27th. Thom Zimny’s The Springsteen Archives was shown on the big screen at the Paramount Theatre, and it included lots of fabulous performances, including «When You Walk in the Room» and «Quarter to Three» from the famous 1975 Bottom Line shows in New York City, plus «Sandy» and «New York City Serenade» from a 1973 concert at Nassau Community College.

The film also included killer clips from the post-Katrina New Orleans show in 2006, a fantastic «She’s the One» from 1988 and even a clip of Patti Scialfa performing with Cats on a Smooth Surface in Asbury Park in 1984, they day Bruce first saw her on a stage.

The big surprise came afterwards, when Backstreets Magazine’s publisher Chris Phillips brought Thom Zimny and Bruce Springsteen to the stage for a pannel discussion.

«We were superstitious about being filmed. A magician should not look too closely at his magic trick», said Bruce, who admitted he had never seen some of the videos. Bruce pointed out Barry Rebo, who was in the audience, as the person responsible for filming many of his early days shows (his films appear in the Born to Run, Darkness and The River boxsets).

Chris Spiegel – Asbury Park Music and Film Festival

Most interesting is the fact that Bruce recognized they want to release those shows, in some form, starting with the New Orleans 2006 show. Hopefully this means an expansion of the current Archive download releases and we get some video soon.

Here’s the complete list of videos that form The Springsteen Archives film:

  • When You Walk in the Room (Bottom Line, New York, Aug. 1975)
  • Apollo Medley (Apollo Theatre, New York, March 9, 2012)
  • New York City Serenade (Nassau Community College, Garden City, NY, Dec.15, 1073)
  • My City of Ruins (New Orleans Jazz Fest, April 30, 2006)
  • Quarter to Three (Bottom Line, New York, Aug.16, 1975)
  • The Promised Land (Freehold, NJ, Nov.8, 1996)
  • Who Do You Love? / She’s the one (Rotterdam, June 28, 1988)
  • Tell Him (Patti Scialfa with Cats on a Smooth Surface, Asbury Park, 1984)
  • 4th of July, Asbury Park (Sandy) (Nassau Community College, Garden City, NY Dec. 15, 1973)
  • Growin’ Up (Buffalo, NY, Nov. 22, 2009)

Brand new Springsteen album announced: Western Stars

After 8 years in the making, it is finally here. Bruce Springsteen started working on Western Stars in 2011, when a sudden burst of inspiration put those songs aside and instead we got Wrecking Ball (2012). The album was again delayed when Bruce decided to tour with the E Street Band in 2016 after releasing the Ties That Bind boxset… and then it was further delayed after the publication of his autobiography Born to Run and the 14-month stay in Broadway.

Western Stars, his 19th studio album, contains 13 brand new original songs and will be released June 14th. The song «Hello Sunshine» and a video will be released tonight, after midnight ET.

This record is a return to my solo recordings featuring character driven songs and sweeping, cinematic orchestral arrangements,» says Springsteen. «It’s a jewel box of a record.»

The 13 tracks of Western Stars encompass a sweeping range of American themes, of highways and desert spaces, of isolation and community and the permanence of home and hope.

Ron Aniello produced the album with Springsteen and plays bass, keyboard, and other instruments. Patti Scialfa provides vocals and contributes vocal arrangements on four tracks. The musical arrangements include strings, horns, pedal steel and contributions from more than 20 other players including Jon Brion (who plays celeste, Moog, and farfisa), as well as guest appearances by David Sancious, Charlie Giordano, and Soozie Tyrell. The album was mixed by Tom Elmhirst.

Western Stars Song Titles

1. Hitch Hikin’

2. The Wayfarer

3. Tucson Train

4. Western Stars

5. Sleepy Joe’s Café

6. Drive Fast (The Stuntman)

7. Chasin’ Wild Horses

8. Sundown

9. Somewhere North of Nashville

10. Stones

11. There Goes My Miracle

12. Hello Sunshine

13. Moonlight Motel

All songs written by Bruce Springsteen